Christian Chat Network

This version of the message boards has closed.
Please click below to go to the new Christian BBS website.

New Message Boards - Click Here

You can still search for the old message here.

Christian Message Boards

| | search | faq | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Christian Message Boards   » Miscellaneous   » General Discussion   » what friends are for

Author Topic: what friends are for
wahl72
Member # 7239

Icon 1 posted      Profile for wahl72   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
Here is my latest column

What Friends are For

My job has nothing to do with aviation but still my boss should really give me the title of Navigator. That’s basically what I do for a living.

Every morning I assign reporters to the stories that you’ll see on the news that night. By 10am a game plan is in place. It takes only about a half-an-hour, on most days, before the plan has been thrown out the window. We are constantly changing course in the hopes of avoiding the snags, roadblocks and potholes that get in the path of the typical news day.

The challenges can be frustrating, but since my career is now entering its fourteenth year, I’ve reached a point where experience helps. When a reporter calls to tell me that an element of their story has “fallen through” the answer to the dilemma almost always comes from the memory of a crisis that took place years ago. How the old problem was handled, for better or worse, provides me with insight on what to do now.

We all lean on experience in our personal life too. That way it’s so easy to give advice, sometimes unwanted advice, to a kid in high school struggling with their grades or maybe to someone who has just fallen in love for the first time. And then, inevitably, a good friend approaches with a problem that stumps you- leaves you caught like the proverbial deer in headlights.